Baby wearing, fan or not?

There are lots of things I have been thinking about since becoming pregnant with Bubba V, but often my mind turns to things that I think we have done well in raising Princess through her first four years and things that I would like to do differently this time around. I assume it’s completely normal and what many second, third or fourth time mumma’s do. Lately my thoughts have centered around baby wearing, which I didn’t do much of with Princess. Did you do it with your bubs?

I specifically remember one day, when Princess may have been three or so months old, all she wanted to do was be held, and if she wasn’t being held she refused to nap and would cry with gusto. I recall it being a warmish day, I can even remember what I was wearing, my navy blue polka dot dress! I just knew that I needed to hang out many loads of washing, obviously being a warm day they would dry quickly and with rain expected for the rest of the week there was no choice.

It was at that moment I recalled having a Baby Bjorn hidden away in the cupboard. I quickly read the instructions, strapped it on, placed Princess in it and almost immediately she calmed and within minutes nodded off. I hung out three loads of washing that day, plus dusted the house, tidy up and prepare dinner, all the while, Princess remained content, snoozing away, head resting nicely against my chest.

I should’ve known then the benefits of baby wearing, and we did do it again quite a few times after this particular event. This time around though. I feel more compelled to do it with Bubba V from the beginning. Because we plan on going camping not long after Bubba V is born too, I’d love to not use a pram during this time, rather carry. Not only will it give us a close bond but will allow me to often continue on with my daily tasks. I have read many forums, stalked many twitter conversations and visited many websites in search of what I can use this time around. Truth be told at the moment I have my heart set on a Hugabub, but would love to hear any other suggestions?

So, apart from suggestions of what to purchase, I’d love to hear about your experiences of baby wearing, good and bad.

Bel x

22 thoughts on “Baby wearing, fan or not?

  1. I have an ergo baby and a sling and both are amazing!!! Ergo baby is great for bubbas hips compared to a bjorn and is so comfortable. The sling I used when we travelled to Malaysia and nessa was 10-11 months old. She wanted to be help most of the time so the sling gave me the options without hurting my back.
    Baby wearing is amazing- and so many benefits. This is how nature intended us to parent- before we invented prams etc. babies are suppose to be with there mums, hearing them,seeing them,smelling them. As you can see I am a big fan of baby wearing.
    I did use a pram- but found the interaction and bonding was so much easier when I wore Nessa. I remember taking her to the zoo when she was a few months old- I wore her most if the time- she loved seeing everything and being talked to. So much more fun than sitting alone in a pram.
    You are clearly on the right track by listening to what feels right for you…. That’s all we need to do as a parent- listen to our instincts. (Sorry I blabbed alot- I get excited and passionate about stuff)

    • You so did not blab!! This is exactly the type of insight I wanted.
      I have heart great things about the Ergo Baby, but love the option of the Hugabub to have baby in a couple of different positions. I really think it will be helpful when camping and also for kinder drop offs, this is my main thinking.
      I love your passion for baby wearing, and after reading a lot and looking back with my experiences with Phoebe, I definitely am looking forward to this aspect with Bubba V

  2. Hi Bel, You’re right about the second time around, in our case we had two very different babies. Amelia loved the pram and car and Kayla HATED both but loved the Ergo baby we invested in (which we are going to sell if you change your mind). It meant that i could pop her in it if Brent was on an arvo shift and i needed to do dinner or whatever and is very comfy…up to 20 kgs i think it says (doubt i’d try that though 🙂 ). Having said that, i have a friend who loved her baby sling…for me i think i would have checked constantly in the sling to make sure they weren’t too snug but it’s definitely personal choice and depends on the bubba. However it also means you have a free hand for Phoebe xx

    • Thanks Mel for sharing. When I look back on the first few months with Phoebe, I feel as though I was ‘forcing’ her to do things my way, rather than what could’ve worked well for both of us. This is why I have been thinking more and more about this topic in particular.

      I’m leaning towards the Hugabub because there are a couple of different ways to have baby in them, all of which look quite secure (because I’m with you about slings, I feel like I would be holding bubs with one hand anyway).

  3. With big babies, a dodgy back and pretty damaged stomach muscles I loved my carrier. I used a baby Bjorn active carrier as it gave me great support for my back. It’s made it so much easier with the second bub. It gave Noah the closeness he craved and Alyssa the attention she needed. Only wishe my two weren’t so big that they could have stayed in them longer

    • Thanks Liz. I can definitely see the benefits, especially with a second child. I’m really looking forward to baby wearing after reading all the comments here today and the experiences you have all had.

  4. I wish I knew about baby wearing with my fist son, he sooooo needed it!

    Thankfully, I knew better with my second and wore him as much as I was able, sometimes he would only sleep while worn. It was hard work, but made it so much easier for everyone!

    • Thanks Dorothy, it’s exactly the thing I have been thinking more and more about!! I also wish I knew more about things like baby wearing. Thanks for shedding some light on your experience.

  5. I didn’t really do the baby wearing thing but I really wish I had of. I think I was afraid it would make for a clingy baby who wouldn’t sleep anywhere but in my arms- which I have found to be so untrue. I did try a baby carrier and sling but when Fynn was older and much heavier and found after a short time my back/shoulders were hurting- so I think if you’re going to do it you need to invest in a good carrier whatever style that may be. I love the idea of baby wearing and like I said I look back now and really wish I had’ve done it

    • Definitely seems to be a running theme that most mums wish they had’ve tried baby wearing or tried it earlier than they did. I’m yet to hear a mum that has used a sling or carrier say a negative thing. The more I look into it, the more I am excited to try it.

  6. I used a baby bjorn when the kids were tiny but they didn’t sit nicely when they got older. Their heads were twisted to the side. My big concern was developing bad habits and this did happens with other methods we tried. So maybe just be careful you don’t use it as your only means if getting bub to sleep. You might end up carrying a 5yr old around!!

    • True Linda, this could be a worry. But I already have a plan in my head of when and where I want to use, so hopefully that helps. That being said, I also think a lot has to do with the personality of bubs….only time will tell eh?
      x

  7. I used a sling for the first few months and loved it! My girl is far too social to use it now and I miss the closeness it gave! Go with your heart!

  8. You know, I didn’t give it much thought with mines. I would hold him until he fell asleep than I would lay him down (he didn’t wake up like some babies do when they feel you placing them on a mattress). He was also content swinging in his baby swing for awhile or just sitting up in his car seat so he could look around. I definitely held him plenty but not at all hours of the day. I guess being a first time mom and a single mom at that I felt SO overwhelmed, that when he was asleep or content I would breathe for a second myself.

    • Thanks for commenting Emily and letting me know you story! Each and every baby is so different aren’t they? What might work for one might not work for another. I’m excited about baby wearing but will probably end up with a completely different but to my first, one who might not like being held as much!

  9. I am one of those first time mums that really needed to baby wear earlier than I did. I found that the ergo was best for us. It doesn’t even feel like I have a 9 kg 15 mth old on my front. I live the fact that I can nurse in it and do my shopping! Being that I didn’t use it when grace was newborn I don’t have an opinion on using it with the newborn insert! I did get a mini monkey for my baby shower and tried to use it a few times but wasn’t confident at all. I now know better for next time!

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!

