Learning through letting go

My career is that of a Primary School teacher, I’ve been doing in now for ten years. I’ve taught littlies (not necessarily my preference), I’ve taught the big kids (which I love), I’ve taught Library, Performing Arts and even dabbled in Intervention programs. But despite being a teacher, I don’t teach my daughter in the traditional sense.

I’ve not taught her to write her name, I don’t flash sight word cards at her, I don’t bring her home leveled readers either, I’m not THAT teacher mum! Instead she learns though experience, personal interest and us letting go.

I’ve been thinking about this more since Kinder began last week, where we were informed as parents to help our kids put their bags away, get out their drink bottles, lunch boxes and hats for the day because sometimes it could be tricky for them. All I could think was “Really?” in the sense that if all the parents followed her advice, were they in fact helping their children at all or just setting them up for a life of always having things done for them? I know that Princess is more advanced in some areas than other children her age (and that isn’t me just talking as her Mum or boasting), but we have taught her to do this simple task by herself. Did it take some effort on our part initially, why sure it did! But now, we have a girl who confidently walks into Kinder and organizes herself, while I stand to the side and watch her proudly.

So, I’ve been thinking of doing a series of posts, things that we do with Phoebe, incidental learning and teaching that we do in our home, what do you think? Would you read it?

Bel x

12 thoughts on “Learning through letting go

  1. Oh I would love that bel! Although even though Alice is only 9 months I fear we are those teacher parents! (my hubby is also a teacher)

  2. I would definitely love to get some tips Bel – Master 6 was independent from the start, but his little brother Master 3 is very hard to motivate, on either everyday tasks or some ‘learning’. Frustration is starting to set in a bit x

  3. I think they’d be a great series of posts and would love to read them! Niamh is very independent and that first day God forbid we did anything for her, we nearly didn’t get a kiss goodbye!
    My worry is if this is the suggestion of the kinder teachers what are they doing for our independent and proud daughters that they can do for themselves, forcing them to regress??

  4. hey bel we are much the same as you guys and amelia is very independent too. learning through books, messy play, baking, trips, walks, talking (non stop), answering questions and going with the flow of what interests her in the moment. we don’t have an ipad, iphone, laptop etc for her (or us) as i think there is so much more fun and childhood to explore in those first few years but each family to their own (as most of our friends are opposite to us or somewhere in between). your posts are always interesting but regardless of what some parents do there will be those little people (and big for that matter) who do lots for themselves, some who need lots of support and assistance and others in the middle xxx

    • I think you hit the nail on the head Mel, there are so many different families, children and other influences out there. All we can do as parents is try to provide a range of experiences to help nourish our children and allow them to grow…..this can be done in so many ways!

  5. and sadly some mums, dads or carers can’t or don’t or may not have the capacity to spend as much time playing, exploring, supporting and helping their little people to learn and grow into confident little personalities x

    • This is why I wanted to write these posts Mel, everyone is very busy these days, and parents can be very hard on themselves. Many wouldn’t realize the things they ARE teaching their children because it isn’t ‘formal’ teaching and learning. If anything, I want parents to sit back, read these posts and say “I do that and more! Maybe I’m not doing such a bad job after all!”

  6. Megan is the same. We have deliberately held back from “teaching” her because we didn’t want a hot-housed child in prep! But despite us not purposely teaching her, she has learned so much, particularly the early academic stuff.

    I think being in a day care room with kids going off to school this yr has shown her what they can do and she wants to keep up. She has asked how to write and draw certain things so I have shown her. Everything has been directed by her interest and I don’t want to curb her enthusiasm for learning, so we do the small things she asks for- nothing more.

    I’m sure her prep teachers will think I’ve schooled her, but they’ll soon realise that she doesn’t do anything she doesn’t want to do!!

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!

