Today…

It finally happened, the first day I have been like “FFS kid just sleep already!!”. I’ve doubted every move I’ve made the last few days in regards to Ragamuffin sleeping during the day (or not sleeping as seems to be the case!). Nothing seems to be working, and I seriously cannot continue holding my boy for the entirety of the day, it’s just not practical!

Hubby suggested taking him for a walk in the pram, you know, get some fresh air fir both of us, but I’ve been walking once a day and unfortunately for me my pelvis is starting to play up again, so I need to slow down. So today, a walk has not been the answer! Nor has letting him cry it out, patting him in his cot, shhhhing him, or even laying down with me. His naps are completely up the shitta and today I got to my whits end.

20130430-145528.jpg
And to make things even better, I just looked down to find him fast asleep, in his bouncer, peacefully snoring…….ten minutes before he is due for a bottle good darn it!!! Don’t worry though, if today is anything to go by it’ll be a micro nap of no more than five minutes. Yep, there you go, he’s awake again!!

What tips/strategies or coping mechanisms do you use to get your young baby to sleep in the day?

Bel x

12 thoughts on “Today…

  1. Hi bel, I work for Moorabool Shire Maternal and child Health unit, maybe you should book into Tweddle Day stay for some helpful advise or may I recommend the Website What were we thinking or safe sleep space for some practical advice . You are not alone, sleep is one of the biggest things we offer advice on, unfortunately all babies need to learn to sleep it doesn’t come natural. Good luck

    • Thanks Karen for your comment! I went to tweeze with Phoebe when she was quite young and have been using similar strategies with Ramsey. Consistency is key at the moment, I need to persist! Yesterday it was hard to get perspective when I was at my whits end lol

  2. Sorry I cant help Bel, but I can surely sympathise!! Alex was a dreadful sleeper and I tried a combination of all you mentioned above. Sometimes they worked, sometimes not. He just had to grow out of it 😦 My only suggestions is to let someone else deal with him for an hour or so, if it gets too much for you. I didnt do that and I got so frustrated with him. Not fair to him or me 🙂

    • Thanks Linda. I’m lucky to have a good support network thank god! Phoebe was a terrible sleeper, Ramsey is much better, yesterday it was just hard to get perspective on the situation ya know!

  3. OK I know I sound like a broken record and this is my go-to answer when I hear of babies like this, but silent reflux is what I am thinking. He doesn’t need to be losing weight or bringing up milk to have it. Knowing Phoebe also had it at his age it’s more like he does too, medically speaking. I’d have a chat to the doctor. I remember Niamh was the same and wouldn’t sleep at all unless I was holding her or she was upright in her bouncer because of the pain.

    As for what I having been doing this time, pretty much anything I can think of lol. Zantac (prescribed), snuggle blankets (Declan’s favourite), patting, shushing, tight wrapping, unwrapping, adding blankets, taking blankets off, dummies. Usually one of those work. Worst comes to worst I hug.

    Good luck with it, it’s hard and can be so frustrating. Remember the crying and restlessness gets progressively worse til around 8 weeks then starts getting better (or so I was reminded today by the mat nurse). xoxo

    • Thanks Bec but definitely don’t think it’s reflux considering how beautifully well my man sleeps at night (last night a six hour stint, followed by a five hour one!). I know it’s just him growing and wanting to be held, I just got to that point yesterday. All good now x

      • Glad you’re all good. We all get to that point once or twice 😉

        Hopefully today is a better day. Growth spurts suck and there’s nothing we can do except ride them out.

        Xoxo

  4. Oh, Bel, I feel for you. Being a Mumma is hard work. Exhausting. This was another of those times I’d reach for my Hug-a-Bub, and try and get on with things the best I could (or sleep myself!). My movement would usually calm the {little} Big Girl, and she just loved the closeness and touch. But maybe you’ve already tried this? Love. X

    • Sure is! I have a hugabub and LOVE it and do use it but having said that, I can’t do that all the time, or the pram all the time. Yesterday was just crappy but today we try again! xx

  5. When my little guy is fussy he often has gas. Once he fussed for an entire afternoon (so unlike him) and finally while rocking him he let out multiple burps. Guess what? Happy Baby was back.

    Another winning strategy for me is sticking him in the swing. He always falls asleep in it. It’s a godsend.

    • Melizza, you hit the nail on the head right there. He has really bad gas, which has improved greatly since I changed him from Avent bottles to Dr Browns. Now I am getting him up if he seems distressed and re-burping or rubbing his belly. Did this today and he went back to sleep in my arms after a nice big poo lol.
      Thanks for your comment x

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!

