And I guess that’s why they call it the blues

It’s happening again, that feeling, I get it every now and again, like the walls of my home are closing in on me. I’m not sure what brings it on, maybe it’s a winter thing. Any how, it’s been lingering and building for days now and today it all came to a head.

We love our home, I love our home. We built it when we were in our early twenties, the first of our friends to take the plunge and buy our first home. We’ve worked hard for the money to get things done around here, our gardens are tip top amazing, we have an awesome entertainment area outside which always gets a workout, we want for nothing!

Our house is thirteen squares, thirteen squares that sometimes feels completely and utterly perfect for our family, but occasionally feels as though it’s walls are closing in, the clutter building and open spaces disappearing. It’s just a feeling, it’s not reality.

20130718-171303.jpg
When I get this feeling there is nothing to be done but clean, tidy and sort. I’ve done that today with the kitchen which I feel is the centre of our home, if that ain’t spick and span I feel like the rest of the house isn’t. And then I headed to our bedroom, which for some unknown reason has become a black hole for boxes and unwanted items since we organized Ragmuffin’s nursery.

I already feel better, the house, our home feels rejuvenated and refreshed. I’ve reclaimed spaces and made use of others. Now I’m going to sit back and enjoy our beautiful home once more, because at the end of the day our family lives here and it’s just a base for all of our amazing adventures.

Bel x

3 thoughts on “And I guess that’s why they call it the blues

  1. Bel, I have been feeling the same.. i started today with my kitchen and feel better already.. Its like clearing cobwebs, dust – both emotional and physical- The act of decluttering is very cleansing isnt it!! xxxx

    • Glad I’m not the only one, I feel weird when I get like this and it’s hard to explain to hubby especially. It is so very cleansing and revitalizing! Hope you are well love x

  2. I think it is a winter thing…to much time spent indoors at home can make you go a little stir crazy and you start to notice every little thing. Hopefully the weather will start to improve soon and all our moods will lift!

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!

