5 things I’m missing from Facebook

Two months, two whole months already since my Facebook blackout began. And many people have asked me if I miss it and if I will I go back after the three months is up?

To answer the question, I’m enjoying my time without it and the freedom
It has given me, but yes, sure, there are elements I miss. I’m not entirely sure what I will do after my blackout is over, I just don’t. So here are the top five things I am missing about Facey.

20130719-161549.jpg
1. My Blog Page – I’m totally missing interacting with my readers here. I miss responding to comments and starting conversations, seeing what is going on in your world (especially if I don’t know you or you don’t have a blog).

2. Other Blog Pages and Groups – I follow many blogs and obviously the majority of them interact via Facebook. I miss seeing what they are up to and things that are being shared. I’m also part of a few groups to do with blogging, very supportive groups and it’s been hard to not jump on when I need some advice quickly.

3. Made by Mumma’s and others – so many people run their handmade businesses on FB, many of which I have previously bought from. This has been tricky with no access, instead for now I’ve been using some handmade websites to source products I have wanted. But I really do miss buying handmade things, made locally.

4. Old friends – who I might not catch up with ever, but still feel a connection to. I love seeing what is happening in their lives and in with their families.

5. Photographs – you know I’m a sucker for photos, and I do miss people posting theirs, showing their kids, places they have gone, parties that have been had. But luckily, I’m still getting my Instagram fix.

So tell me, are you missing me not posting on my page over on Facebook? What do you think you would miss the most if you logged off?

Bel x

5 thoughts on “5 things I’m missing from Facebook

  1. linbritt says:

    I’m not enjoying Facebook either and almost joined you on your blackout but my mothers group have a conversation going through the messages feature and its the best way for us to communicate. If it weren’t for that, I’d be giving Facebook the flick.

  2. Nic says:

    Hi! I’ve been reading for a while but rarely comment, sorry. My girlfriend Mel told me about your blog. I haven’t been on Facebook since the Easter school holidays… We went away and I had no access, when we came home and I realised I hadn’t really missed it (the negative/boring/complaining part) so haven’t been back! It’s been interesting to read you blogs about doing the same. I do miss people’s photos and reading what they have been up to but not enough to reactivate my account. I call people more, catch up in person and have also written letters! It makes me sad to think my girls won’t experice the whole “traditional” pen pal concept, I had many and loved it. Real mail is such a thrill. I am still on Instagram and follow blogs which I find is enough. Will be interested to read what you decide to do! X

    • amumsreality says:

      Thanks for popping by and taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it. I think with Facebook and iPhones these days a lot of it is out of habit and boredom! I think if I do return, it will most definitely be because of my blog page and to have access to the blogs I follow and the groups I participate in.
      Since leaving I’ve loved reconnecting with friends via mail, phone calls and catch ups! I hope I can promote these with my children as the social media continually evolves

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!

