A thousand thoughts, one post

It’s been a week, one of those weeks. Things that were working two weeks ago no longer are. The kids have been crazy, both of them, but so have many others, I think it has something to do with the full moon, don’t you? Ragamuffin has had a few very unsettled days, and by that I mean, he hasn’t been sleeping well, if not at all, which has meant holding him lots (which I love for the snuggles) but in turn has had a domino effect in that I haven’t been able to get dressed, to shower, to eat, or to do any housework whatsoever. Frustration is rising, I’m at a loss as to what to do with him. I hope it’s an age thing, I think it is. Each day I wake with a positive attitude and hope for a better day, sometimes it happens, sometimes it doesn’t. But even when it doesn’t, I try to focus on the good things that have happened.

I’ve got some totally awesome friends out there, you know the ones, the ones that just sense something isn’t right and rescue you when you need it the most. It has meant a couple of welcome visits, some thoughtful texts, and a beautiful phone call. Not only that, but my social media friends, the ones who I have never met but I know so much about, can jump to your rescue in an instant via the online world. Hubby has been awesome too, even though I’ve probably have been a cow to him.

My moods are all over the place, up and down, round and round, happy and sad, frustrated and angry, irritable and grumpy and then back to totally happy and content. Don’t panic, I’m pretty sure it’s nothing more than mood swings, I’m pretty sure it’s related to the new contraceptive I’m on, I’m waiting to hear back from my Doctor today about that. And if I’m right, it will be easily fixed and I will be back to myself in no time. The only downside is, that this has been the one and only contraceptive so far that has actually reduced the amount of migraines I get, like really significantly, to the point where I have only had one in the last six months as opposed to the usual six. It’s ok though, I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.

When Princess was as old as Ragamuffin is now, I was already back at work, doing one to two days per week. I’m loving the time I have at home with him and with Princess when she is not at Kinder and I am in no way looking forward to going back to work until next year, when I plan to return. But I can help but wonder whether this also might be a factor of my moods? I’m sure it is to a point, but also the fact that I have kinda been housebound for the last few weeks hasn’t helped the situation at all!!

So I’m being proactive, I’m going to start throwing myself into things I enjoy and doing more things for myself. Starting with spuising up our beautiful home now that we are here to stay. Because I looked at a house the other week, you didn’t know that did you? And I loved it (even though I didn’t want to) and I can see our family growing there. But it’s not to be, and here we stay and here we love. On the agenda, pricing up new blinds, we still have the verticals we bought when we built the house because that was all we could afford at the time, and they have done their job, I’m suprised they have survived the barrage of kids we have here on a weekly basis! Not sure if they’ll get done straight away, cashola of course is a factor when one is not working. I wouldn’t sanding back and painting the front door too, Hubby doesn’t know about that one yet! And there will be probably a spot of online shopping too, because lets face it, that always boosts a bad mood!

Sorry for the post with many ramblings rolled into one! I just felt like I needed, wanted, to get it all off my chest to start fresh. Hope all is well in your little worlds and families today.

Bel x

6 thoughts on “A thousand thoughts, one post

  1. We all have those weeks! Sometimes they come and go and sometimes moods linger and the key is to recognise when it’s a bigger problem and to do something about it- which clearly you are. I enjoyed our morning out of the house together yesterday, think we both needed it. There will be better days ahead I’m sure xx

  2. Oh no you poor thing! I know those weeks. With Ragamuffin just try to keep in mind that this is a phase and this too shall pass. The bad days will get less and less as he recovers from whatever the issue is (teeth, growth spurt?). I hope you sort things out with the contraception. I can’t take any hormonal type contraceptive since having my son as it makes me feel so crazy. Waaaaay emotional. So I feel for you. Sounds like you have a plan anyway and I hope things get better soon. 🙂

    • Thanks! I am definitely trying to reassure myself that in a few days or so he will change again. I’m feeling more myself today, so am hoping everything is nearly out of my system and I’ll be back to my normal self in no time xx

  3. Pingback: Update on those grey clouds | Life at no. 2

  4. Pingback: Bright, Sun Shiny Day | Life at no. 2

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!

