Back for two days

My self-imposed Facebook blackout ended on Monday…. so how are things going you ask? Well on day one, I must say, I was on there quite a bit! Not in a bad way though, the first thing I did was post a status saying I was back, adding a new photo of the kids (because lets face it, they have both grown so much in three months, especially Ragamuffin), and then I looked at my friend list which consisted of around 330 people.

A friend posted a response here on my blog the other week when I asked if you could start all over, what would you do? After a weeks break back when I started, she cut her friend list dramatically by taking the approach that if they wouldn’t stop and have a conversation in the street, then they were gone. I liked this, I liked it a lot. So my first hour or so back in Facebook land was spent looking at my friends list closely and figuring out if we in fact bumped into each other on the street, would I stop and have a conversation with them and vice-versa? For some, the question was any easy yes or no, but for others I had to think about it for a bit longer and come back. All in all, I think I made the right decision by cutting my list the way I did (thanks Jacinta!), and managed to get my list down to around 180. More might still go in the future, and it really is nothing personal against those people, I just don’t think we would actually ‘talk’ so what is the point really?

I soooooo missed my blog page though, I really did! Being able to connect with my readers, that small community I had started to form…..I’m glad I have that back now and will be putting most of my energy into that page. I visited and liked all of my current favorite blogs on my page too, so head over, you might find a new read. I have missed all their status updates too, so I spent probably the majority of my time after fixing my friends list there on my blog page and visiting old friends to see what they have been posting.

So, what did I learn from my blackout??

– For one, I spent WAY too much time on my phone checking Facebook, way too much!! So to curb this, I wont be carrying my phone around with me 24/7 like I used to. I will check my pages possibly twice a day, but it will be while the kids are sleeping so it doesn’t effect our time together.

– I found new old ways of connecting with people that I LOVE and MISSED. So phone calls, letters and catch ups will continue to be a regular thing for me. And I hope my friends continue to do the same, I don’t want to go back to the old “Oh yeah, I heard/saw that on Facebook!”.

– Hanging out with a big group of friends is meant to be about having a good time together and chatting….I noticed how much other people are on their phones when out with friends, it’s totally crazy!! Put your phone down, live the life right in front of you right now! Surely checking your feed while out with great company isn’t a matter of life and death and can wait?

– Hubby has LOVED the fact that I have been off it, which obviously meant I was on it way too much when he was around. So no checking Facebook at night either.

– I have become a lot more positive since my three month break. When I left I found that most status’ were dragging my mood down. Don’t get me wrong, everyone has shit days, but when you are hearing about it day in and out, and usually from the same people regularly, it’s like a grey cloud is hovering. If this happens again, I’ll be logging off for a while and re-evaluating the people who I am surrounding myself with. Reiterating here (especially to my beautiful friends who visit here), we ALL have bad days and all have the right to voice them, but if it is a regular occurrence, maybe something needs to change?

– I want a lot of the OLD Facebook back, status updates, and photos, tell me what’s going on in your life! I don’t want ads, and crappy videos popping up in my feed, it seems to be drowning out my friends!

Have you had a break from Facebook? I’d love to hear about it if you have and what you learnt from the experience?!

Bel x

 

7 thoughts on “Back for two days

  1. Jess @ myheartisyourhome says:

    I had 12 months away from facebook. Completely deleted my account.
    When I first came back it was only to run my blog page, then I have slowly added friends to my personal account but still only have 70 friends. It was the best thing I have done for myself. Facebook now is a form of convenient communication with large groups of people ie. my mothers group. Rather than something I use daily to “stalk” and waste time.

  2. Carly says:

    I deleted the app from my iPhone and only log on during the weekends. People at work comment that I am still using it, but it is just that I send my instagram images there. I’m not really.

    I’ve considered doing it with twitter too as I don’t feel that I use it to talk to people anymore. But that’s just me.

    • amumsreality says:

      I like the idea of deleting the app and only getting on from your computer. I’m definitely not on my computer as much as my phone, so it might be something for me to ponder to x

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!

