The Lurker Within

Long ago, or ok, maybe just a few years ago, I found my first ever blog to read. A new world opened up, and I slowly built up and bookmarked my favorite places to visit. And I think I visited for years until I actually started commenting. You see, some had these wonderful communities that they had made, and this amazing connection with their readers. It was like they knew each other, either in real life or virtually through their blogs, Twitter, Instagram and Facebook, and I felt like I didn’t belong, didn’t have the right to comment because they didn’t know me. They knew things about each other, about their kids and their hobbies and hometowns, how could I possibly be part of that??!

But then one day, a post was written that struck a chord with me and I just HAD to respond. And then I began to comment more and more, and before I knew it, I had delurked myself. And you know what, some of the blogs I visited started answering MY comments, they started following ME on Instagram and Twitter and would occasionally visit MY blog too. And before too long, some of them knew ME by name and knew the names of my kids, and my hobbies too! They would know if I had had a crap day because they saw something I had written, and days later they would check on me. And all of a sudden, I had ALL these people in my virtual community, just because I finally delurked myself.

 

8ed47c9486fd3307307820202dfa0ec7

 

Image here

 

 

So…….Hello you!! Yes you, in front of the screen, reading and visiting here at no2. I love that you pop by, that you read my ramblings and look at the photographs I take, I honestly do! So c’mon, delurk yourself, tell me about you! Where are you from, who are you, do you have a blog of your own I can visit? If you look through my posts, you’ll notice I respond to almost EVERY comment made here, as I do on my other social media platforms. So don’t be scared, don’t be shy, if you visit here, you belong here and I would LOVE to get to know you better. C’mon, take a chance, delurk yourself, you may just find yourself a new friend!!

Bel x

10 thoughts on “The Lurker Within

  1. Lucy says:

    Hi Bel,
    This is such a great post! I too lurked at many, many (in fact, far too many!) blogs before starting to comment recently. I love your blog and I am a teacher/super organiser/chocoholic too, so all your posts are right up my alley. I’m kinda suspicious that teaching leads to being a chocoholic!! I have only recently started my own blog http://www.bakeplaysmile.com but am absolutely loving the little community that is starting to grow! It’s amazing how you really feel like you get to know people online! Hey, and any chance for a chat is always a good one! Enjoy your weekend 🙂

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!

