Support in moving

Thank you to some of my beautiful readers for their support yesterday after this post I wrote, I honestly appreciate it beyond words!

Years ago, pre-babies when most of my income was disposable as was my time, I joined the same gym I walked into last night. I used to go once a week, only because that was my personal training session. At the same time, unbeknownst to me, I was beginning to suffer from panic attacks, and obviously that played a big part in why I didn’t ever rock up for a workout! I felt like people were looking at me, judging me, watching me and whispering about me, of course they weren’t, it was the attacks talking you see? So I never went andI wasted my money!

But last night, there was not a single negative thought as I walked into my first orientation session at the gym, just hopes,dreams and a hell of a lot of positivity.

20130925-082538.jpg
Basically last night I learnt how to use all the cardio machines and had a program written up. Even when it was all done, I could’ve easily gone home, like I would’ve in the past, instead I stayed for a bit and used the treadmill and felt great for it (unfortunately I forgot my headphones so it was a tad boring!). Not only was I exercising but I felt like I was recharging myself as a Mum and a wife, there was no guilt, just enjoyment.

I’m already so looking forward to going again!

So tell me, do you go to a gym and if so, what’s your favorite bit? Or do you exercise in the great outdoors?

Bel x

11 thoughts on “Support in moving

  1. Sorr sister of mine, can’t help you here- you know I’m allergic to excercise lol. But my advice would be maybe see your gym time more as ‘me time’. I know a lot of people who excercise for relaxation etc so maybe once you get into it more you can see it in this light rather than something you have to do to loose weight

  2. I was going to Fernwood before we moved and I loved it. I did a lot of boxing (highly recommend) and yoga. Did wonders for my anxiety/depression. After moving, I have really missed my ‘gym time’ and am slowly getting back into it after suffering a major depressive/anxiety stint recently. I don’t do it to loose weight, but for my mental state. Good luck and enjoy

  3. Love this
    I’d never been a member of any gym till a year ago. I always thought “ohh I’ll lose a bit of weight before I join” which sounds silly now.
    I really enjoy going, I like the classes. I go at 9am and all the mess is still waiting when I get back.
    I feel refreshed & the boys like playing in the toy room, but the best bit is having your clothes fit more comfortably.
    Xx

    • I wish you could bottle the feeling you have after a workout to remind yourself when you don’t want to go! I think putting it above household things is good, as you said, it’s there when you get back!

  4. We recently purchased a treadmill which I intended to use after Evelyn was born. But after having an emergency c section I couldn’t stand the thought of being inside. So with the weather being as nice as it has been, walking outside with the pram has been too good to pass up.

    • So true! Even though I’ve been heading to the gym when it is nice out I still try to fit in a walk, even if it’s just to the park around the corner. Beware swooping birds though!!
      x

  5. Thought I’d check in and see how you are going, Bel. I must admit, I love the rush I get during and post workout. That mix of feeling exhausted and refreshed. Hopefully you are making headway and on the way to where you want to be, both physically and mentally. X

  6. Pingback: It’s all about me | Life at no. 2

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!

