Sleep is her drug

I have a five year old, a five year who still has a day nap each and every day!

Believe me dear readers, you don’t need to tell me how flippin awesome this is, because believe me I know! 

It’s been even more awesome this year with a new baby on my hands. All three of us would just jump into bed for an afternoon nap, it was bliss and it has kept me sane, there has barely been a hint of sleep deprivation here, total awesomeness right there!

 

026

And before you ask, like others do too, I’ll answer first; she sleeps for about an hour and a half, and she still goes to bed at eight thirty and wakes at seven or later in the morning. Amazing huh?

The problem is though, my dear girl heads off to school next year, and as much as she needs her nap, things will need to change. If she was picked up at 3:05pm each day when school ended, I’m sure she would still have a power nap and outgrow it when she no longer needed it, but you see, she will be heading to the same school where I teach, meaning she will stay back with me long after the bell has gone and the school grounds are emptied.

So these past two weeks, we decided (her and I) to nap every second day and on the others, there would be quiet time. Have you ever traded a five year old in for a teenager?! Because that seems to be the knock on effect from this! The moodiness, the attitude, the backchat, holy hell, what have I done!!? Not only that, she fights the nap, then crashes for hours!! I have to wake her for dinner and so that she will sleep during the night. And then, she sleeps in the next day, I have to wake her and drag her out of bed for Kinder, which she absolutely loves and is normally jumping out of her skin to get to!

So I’ve made a decision, the naps will stay as long as she needs them (especially over the Christmas Holiday break where late nights are the norm). When she starts school, hopefully I’ll have a bean bag or something in my room where she can crash for half an hour if she needs too. That’s the plan anyway, we’ll just play along and see what happens!

When did your kids drop their naps? Did you have to make some adjustments when your littlies headed off to school?

Bel x

10 thoughts on “Sleep is her drug

  1. linbritt says:

    I’m in a similar boat Bel. Megan sleeps every now and then, perhaps every second or third day, but definitely needs it. Our school is a bit further from home so I’m hoping she’ll sleep in the car after school.

    • amumsreality says:

      I’m glad I’m not alone! Most Mum’s tell me their kids dropped all sleeps around 2 years. That’s the perfect time for Meaghan to sleep on the way home, that way when you get home you can get straight into readers, word lists and cooking dinner. x

  2. Bec | Mumma Tells says:

    Oh wow, Bel. How great is that? But I also understand your dilemma. My {little} Big Girl sleeps for 2-3 hours during the day and it is bliss! I am just keeping everything crossed she continues once the new babe arrives… because I know I’ll need the break if I am lucky enough for them both to be down at the same time.

  3. Andrea says:

    That’s pretty amazing Bel! Have you considered making her bedtime earlier? I know she is younger but Ruby generally sleeps 7pm til 7am (sometimes 7:30/8am) and no longer has her day sleep. She falls asleep watching a movie or in the car sometimes too when she is tired or needs to catch up on some zzz. Just a thought, I’m sure you’ll work it out!

    • amumsreality says:

      If we could move her bedtime that would be the perfect solution, but unfortunately Hubby doesn’t get home til around 6:30 most nights, so we tend to have a late dinner. We’ll get there eventually I’m sure! x

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!

