The red string

Chinese Red String theory: An invisible red thread connects those who are destined to meet, regardless of time, place, or circumstances. The thread may stretch or tangle but will never break

vaughan-248Photograph by the beautiful Meaghan Cook

A while ago back on my old blog, I wrote a post about what type of friend I thought I was and even when I read it back, I know how truthful I was being with myself and you guys reading out there. I read it now though and I see a woman who was desperately seeking beautiful friendships and acceptance, a woman who would always put herself out there and often get hurt in the process (though you wouldn’t know it) and a woman who was always questioning if she was in fact good enough.

This past year has been one of growth for me, and it seems to have happened gradually and I’ve just gone along for the ride. I’m starting to believe that all friendships serve a purpose no matter how big or small, and when I think about them in this way, there has been less of an opportunity for me to become upset and wonder if I was doing something wrong.

I have a varied and beautiful group of friends, all of which serve different purposes as I probably do for them.

The friends that I see each and every weekend.

The ones who are more like family than friends.

The ones who text regularly.

The ones that call once a week.

The ones that live far away but are never far from my thoughts.

The ones that make me laugh til I almost wet myself (must do my pelvic floors). The ones that have drifted and may continue to drift away.

The ones that have drifted and then come back with a renewed friendship.

The ones who I can call on when I need help.

The ones who always lend a shoulder and an ear.

The ones who I meet on a specific day each week.

The ones I can confide in.

The ones that have my back.

The ones that just have a ‘sense’ and know when I need them.

The ones who I have known all my life.

The new friends who I’ve discovered recently.

The party animals.

The soul sisters.

The pen friends.

The virtual friends……………………….

All of them serve a purpose, some the same and some different and some of the reasons intertwine. In some of the friendships. And in some of those friendships I  may serve more of a purpose for them? Either way, I’m trying to let go and not be so sensitive when a friendship drifts or I’m not thought about (but who am I to know that, that’s just an assumption), and thinking about the purpose that each friendship is or was serving is helping me to do that.

So to my beautiful friends out there, thank you for being part of my life, I love you all for it xx

Bel x

One thought on “The red string

  1. Pingback: Too many friends, really? | Life at no. 2

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!

