I want to ride my bicycle, I want to ride my bike!

About three or so years ago, I had this brilliant (or not so) idea…..
I wanted one of those bike trailers that everyone had at the time and start riding around with Princess in the back. I dreamt of medium distances and building up, heading off to the local parks with a picnic packed in the trailer beside Princess. Hubby bought me a bike and hooked the trailer on the back, and the dream, well, it didn’t quite come true.

Truth be told, I wasn’t all that fit! So when I headed off on my first ride with the trailer on and Princess in it, I didn’t make it much further than around the block. The trailer, plus child was heavy and I had no idea how to use my new bike that had fifty-thousand gears. I tried a few times but each time I was beaten down, until one day, they were both just let to sit outside and rust away in the weather.

Over the Christmas holidays while camping, Princess was at the camp while her friends were off doing things. I offered to go with her on a short bike ride, which we did. We rode to the park and had fun on the flying fox, but really, the most fun was the riding part, riding with my girl!

My fitness has obviously improved, but I tell you, riding along side her, giggling, weaving in front of each other and chatting was by far the most fun I’ve had in a long time!! I almost felt like a child again. At that moment I knew I had to try again, so today, Hubby has bought a new bike and a baby seat for Ragamuffin, and I bought a new bike of my own choosing!

20140120-214236.jpg
We’ve made a plan to go riding together on the weekends, whether it be to the local milk bar or even to friends and families homes. And when Hubby gets home from work Princess and I will head of on rides together. That kind of fun is just too good to pass up!!

So, how long it has it been since you’ve been on a bike?

Bel x

4 thoughts on “I want to ride my bicycle, I want to ride my bike!

    • So true Mel! The one thing that has worried me is the traffic. Hubby and I have worked out a couple of easy routes to different parks to keep the road use at a minimum for Princess so she can focus on just riding x

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!

