Mothers Day – a sentimental giveaway

Sometimes you just come across a website that makes the must luscious things, and if you’re like me, I bookmark a lot of items as ‘potential awesome gifts’ for the people in my life. So, I was completely gobsmacked when I found May Bird Stitches, that I bookmarked the site straight away. Fast forward two weeks, and I now have my own little piece of May Bird Stitches in my home, and one to giveaway too! 20140409-DSC_0006 So who is May Bird Stitches? May Bird Stitches is a celebration of Samantha’s dearest childhood memories. Her love of creating was born from two very important ‘May’s’ in Samantha’s life, her mum, Alwyn May and her Nana Emily May. Many happy hours were spent at their elbow watching them knit and sew, if Samantha was lucky they’d let her work the peddle. With their nurturing Samantha learnt you are only limited by your imagination. May Bird Stitches is cosy and colourful, fresh and fun and stitched together with love. One of Samantha’s signature pieces, which I am now lucky enough to call my own, are her Sketch n Stitch Pillows, “a transformation of your children’s precious masterpieces into unique keepsakes…these beautiful hand stitched recreations of your little ones drawings will be enjoyed for years to come“. It’s as simple as dusting off those drawings your children have done in the past, and forwarding it on to Samantha. Princess drew a cute little picture of our family, complete with my new fringe, I sent it away and on it’s safe return, I had the most beautiful keepsake! (Now I’m eyeing off her quilt creations!) 20140409-DSC_0012 20140409-DSC_0013 20140409-DSC_0016 DSC_0019 DSC_0024   Don’t you just love how adorable it is!? I am honored to giveaway one of Samantha’s beautiful Sketch n Stitch pillows, for you, a Grandparent or a loved one. And remember, you have to be in it to win it!! In order to be in the running to win this beautiful keepsake, you need to do three quick things for me:

*HEAD OVER AND ‘LIKE’ May Bird Stitches,

*WHILE YOU’RE THERE ‘LIKE’ Life at no2’s Facebook page.

* AND FINALLY leave a quick comment when you have liked both pages telling me your favorite memory of your own Mother or Grandmother.

Winner chosen randomly on the 17th of April

**Update – our winner was Moey (who is a new visitor to the blog, commented but on the ‘About Me’ page! Congrats Moey, we will be in touch!**

 

18 thoughts on “Mothers Day – a sentimental giveaway

  1. mummablue says:

    Lovely giveaway Bel! Princess’ pillow is just adorable! I will definitely be ordering one from May bird stitches! I have so many beautiful memories of my grandma before she passed away but the one that comes to mind is her meeting Ava for the very first time! I’m just sad that Ava won’t remember her!!

  2. Rebecca Davie says:

    Hi Bel. Loved this pillow case idea! I remember making a card for both my mum and dad when I was little and it separate cards I wrote “I love you Mum, your my favrite” (yes favourite spelt like that) and in the other card I wrote “I love you Dad, your my favrite” lol! I’d love to get these words copied onto each side of a pillow case and give to my mum and dad! Beck. X

    • lifeatno2 says:

      I love that idea Bec with the memory attached! I love kids spelling too, my sister wrote a card to Mum once saying she was byofol, that’d be beautiful in kids language! x

  3. kimrichards82 says:

    Soooo cute! I think my favourite memory of my mum is when we finally told her we were pregnant with Evie. She had wanted to be a “nan” for far too long, (I swear she would’ve been happy with me being a teen mum if that had happened haha). She literally had to go and sit down she was so excited. I think the only thing that tops it is the ongoing memories of seeing pure love and excitement from her every time she spends time with my girls.

  4. Melanie Marshall says:

    Great idea Bel!! Favorite memory of my grandmother was telling her we were going to be parents for the first time! The excitement in her eyes said it all!!!

  5. Lynleigh says:

    Favourite grandma memory is her always having ribena and TicToc biscuits, both still make me think about her 🙂

  6. Chels says:

    One of my favourite memories of my mum was back when I was in high school. I had just broken up with my first serious boyfriend & decided school was too much for me that day. I decided to ‘wag’ & go home expecting mum to be angry at me for leaving. Instead when I walked in the door, she greeted me with ice cream & chocolate because she knew how upset I was. We chatted for the whole afternoon and it was the first time I saw mum as more than just a mum. She was my friend too. 🙂

    • lifeatno2 says:

      Oh Chelsea, what a special little moment out of one that wasn’t so great at the time. There is definitely a point in all girls lives where they realise their Mum is probably one of the best friends they will have in life. x

  7. Amy Crawford says:

    Bel, how can I choose just one special moment? So many precious memories of 3 wonderful women! I will never forget when mum met Kyrah, brings tears to my eyes thinking about it. I also treasure spending the Christmas holidays and cooking with my Nanas 🙂

  8. Melissa Karpathakis says:

    This is a memory which only recently came back to me and I’m glad that it did! Driving in the car the other day a Julio Iglesias song came on the radio. He was a Spanish singer, big in the 80s and my mum absolutely loved him. As soon as I heard that song I was transformed back to being a 5yr old sitting on the floor, watching my mum dancing around the lounge room to her Julio record like she didn’t have a care in the world. It just reminded me how young my mum was once and how beautiful she was to me then (as she still is now) and how something as simple as hearing a song on the radio can fill you with such warmth and sentiment and make you automatically want to reach for the phone to call that person and let them know how much you love them. A memory that was ‘lost’ for so many years that will now always be treasured in my heart x

  9. wildchildonboard says:

    Oh wow what a great prize!!

    I have so many find memories of my mum. We are incredibly close. I tell her everything and she does the same in return. So when I fell pregnant (both times) I knew I had to have her by my side. Seeing the pride in her eyes when I gave birth to her grandchilden will be etched in my heart forever. I think it has given her a special bond with them and made our bond stronger than ever.

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!

