Treasure found

I made a mistake years ago, albeit a small one. In the haze and flurry of organising our wedding back in 2012, I didn’t keep every single document or website I came across. When our two year anniversary arrived last month, I went into reminiscing mode, sifting through photos and my box of keepsakes. My wedding shoes presented themselves, a simple pair of ballet flats, but yet not simple at all. Even though the shoes were white, just like my dress, they were also my something blue. I had written a beautiful poem on the soles just days before our wedding.

vaughan-012

vaughan-013

The day of our wedding it rained, despite it being a muggy thirty degrees plus the day before and day after, the day of was cold and the rain was unrelenting. My beautiful dress and shoes suprisingly faired extremely well in the conditions, but the poem itself was slowly etched off by the mud, sand and rain. There is almost nothing left of the poem, except a few sentences here and there. So I went on a hunt to find the poem, and despite me thinking I had, I hadn’t saved it anywhere and I couldn’t find the title of it in any internet searches.

It wasn’t until today, with the help of the photo and the muddy shoes themselves, that I randomly began typing in some of the sentences that I could make out. And just when I was about to give up, I finally found it!! Needless to say it has now been printed, bookmarked and saved! I still can’t find the exact origin of the poem or lyrics, or who wrote them, but it suited us perfectly and still does.

I will marry you in front of the world in front of no one at all,
I will love you in our bedroom the living room or hall
I will live with you anywhere, a mansion or a shack
I will go anywhere with you to the end of the world and back
I can stay awake and talk to you forever and a day
I can spend my life by your side and never go away
I can look into your eyes and see my future there
I can offer you my soul, with out worry or despair
I can tell you that I have always loved you,
I can tell you that I love you now more than words could ever express
I want you to be my husband you are the very best
I want to hold your hand forever and feel your caress
I want these things forever, eternally, with out end
I want to be your wife your lover and your friend.
I DO Love you always

Have you ever lost something and given up hope of finding it?

 

4 thoughts on “Treasure found

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!

