Photo Organisation

I was sure I had written a post about this before, but try as I might, I can’t locate it. Which means one of two things, I did write it and didn’t tag it in a way in which it could be found easily OR I dreamt I wrote it. Anyways, I always like to start the year off being organised, especially when it comes to the years worth of photos I will take. And I am sure there are many other ways to organise your photos, but mine way is a simple, sure fire way, that works well for me.

20140630-_DSC0326

I start off by creating a folder called 2015, simple enough hey? And then I add in the following other folders within that:

~~ 52 Week Project

~~ Iphone Photos (which I also then copy and paste into the correct date folder)

~~ Photobook (at the end of each month I choose all the images that I want to be apart of our yearly family photo book, it saves heaps of time at the end of the year when all the good sales are usually on!).

~~ Monthly folders labelled 01January to 12 December

~~ Within each monthly folder, a subfolder called RAW (which is where I upload my RAW files from my DSLR before I edit them in Lightroom.

At the end of every month I also try to back my files up to an external hard-drive, if you think loosing files wont happen to you, think again, it’s only a matter of time!! These days you can get a terabyte drive from $100 and it will last you a while, so for peace of mind, it’s really worth it.

Now when I have friends and family come to me for certain images, I usually know what month or year to look in. Each folder is like a doorway back into time, just waiting to be opened and rediscovered.

Hope this post helps a little. I’d love to know if you use my method and how you find it or if you organised your images in another way?

One thought on “Photo Organisation

  1. I do exactly the same Bel, but i also create a folder within each month for a large group of photos, eg, Melbourne Zoo trip. Everything else thats just random photos go into that month ‘loose’. Makes it so easy to find things, hey?!

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!

