Glaringly obvious!

A couple of weeks ago I attended my first Bloggers BBQ hosted by Kids Business. It was a wonderful day with the family, Hubby even came. I got to chat with some wonderful companies about their products and even got to try a couple out, but as the day went on a few things became glaringly obvious to me…

~~ I think I explained it well to Hubby, blogging is an ocean, all different types of creatures. There are whales, who rock the blogging world, are well known, have many followers, stick to their brand and can walk the walk and talk the talk. And then there is me, plankton. I am plankton in the blogging world, and that’s totally cool too you know?

~~ Even though I have been blogging for a few years now, I am still relatively new to it all really. I don’t really talk the lingo, or run in any circles, and if I do see a blogger or someone I follow on Instagram in person, introvert me doesn’t allow me to go over and say hi. I love that on a whim one night a few years back I fan-girled Cherie, and she actually wasn’t too freaked out by my moment of confidence and invited me to dinner, I totally love her for that! But those moments for me are few and far between, I am after all an anxiety ridden introvert.

~~I just don’t talk the talk. I love working with companies and brands who I believe in, or whose products I use, but it just isn’t me to dress on up and put my brave, smiley, confident face on and talk myself up. There is a reason I blog and hide behind my computer screen, there totally is! I was in absolute awe of some of the bloggers I saw the other day, they were creating partnerships with brands on the spot like I make a vegemite sandwich for my kids. I wish them all the best, and part of me wishes I displayed that type of confidence too.

But what does it all mean to me, Bel, the blogger? Well, it really just means I keep plugging away. I have a couple of goals for my little place this year, and whatever happens along the way I will be grateful for. I write for me, it’s my thing, and I write for my little community I have and am slowly creating. I may never be a whale, but this year, I am hoping to totally rock being a plankton!

13 thoughts on “Glaringly obvious!

  1. Samantha says:

    wow this is so relevant to me at the moment!! I was just mulling this over yesterday and feeling out of my depth in the whole “Makers world” on instagram, I’m not in the clique, nor do I want to be, I have no idea what I’m doing most of the time and the introvert in me is far too happy to hold back and watch from the sidelines. So for now I’ll just coast along and do my own thing and see what the year brings. Who wants to be a whale anyway Bel, plankton are super cute!!

    • lifeatno2 says:

      Plankton are super cute and I wholeheartedly agree with all your sentiments. I think it’s why I love my ‘about me’ page and description so much, because really, I am completely ordinary and won’t pretend to be anything else xx

  2. Maxabella says:

    I could never see myself having the confidence to do that with brands at an event like that. I’ve never had the balls to effectively sell myself, so I just don’t. I just do my thing and hope I find plenty of other swimming along with me in this big old ocean. x

    • lifeatno2 says:

      I marvel at my daughter who just seems to run her own race, people can join her or not, I could really take a leaf out of her book! Thanks so much for visiting my little space Bron, it’s appreciated x

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!

