Multitasking

I used to pride myself on the ability to multitask, just as most women do I suppose. But I shit you not when I saw the whole multitasking bizzo has gone made, almost insane with me, and I know that I am not the only one!

The ability to just sit and be now is a concept that is rare and also hard for most of the people I know to undertake. I definitely think it has a link to our mobile phone and social media usage but I’m a bit time poor to locate any actual evidence to back up my claim. Picture me the other night for instance, kids were in bed, Hubby making his lunch for the next day and me sitting on the couch with the TV on. I was crocheting Princess her blanket when I received a text message, and BAM, here’s where it all starts. So I am sitting there, watching TV while crocheting, texting back a friend who has asked me a question, then getting on my ipad to answer said question, all the while asking Hubby for his advice too. I mean, what the actual hell!! FIVE THINGS at once!!

20130429-161931.jpg

And to bring my point home people, I will take you to me, sitting here right now! I am typing away here, while I have the TV on in the background (Ellen if you must know), in the background I am loading and editing photos, Facebook is open to check what else is going on in Bloggy land, I’m receiving text messages off my SIL while she has the kids in the city for the day, all the while between keyboard strokes I am also eating lunch and checking instagram occasionally! SEVEN THINGS people seven!! Please tell me I’m not alone in this??

What happened to the days of having a child free day and just sitting reading a book or watching a movie and nothing else!!?? I’m not sure what compels me to multitask to the point where I don’t have enough hands to complete the tasks, maybe it has something to do with being time poor and always wanting to feel connected to the virtual world? Whatever it is, I’m logging off right now so that I can eat my lunch without multitasking.

9 thoughts on “Multitasking

  1. We are consumed in this society with electronics. I am very guilty of this myself. I try to take a break by forced family meals at the table with no electronics. It’s nice to sit and eat with my kids and husband with no multitasking allowed.

    • It’s crazy that something that’s purpose was to make it lives easier has made us time poor! I’m definitely making more of an effort to assign set times to using technology and focusing on one thing at a time. We also do meal times at the table technology free, it’s my favorite time of night x

  2. I think all this multitasking stems from the myth that if we are not busy we are lazy. It stems from the myth that unless you are busy and looking busy you are lazy. Big business and government push this as well. However it is counter productive and counter intuitive to try and concentrate effectively on more than one thing. Each extra thing that you add diminishes your efficacy and productivity. Your mind works the best when its singularly focussed. In the workplace I used to be derided for working on one thing at a time, but at the end of the day, end of the week I’d have all my tasks completed where as many colleagues all had 9 or 10 projects “on the go” but nothing completed. Its not just about electronics its just about starting and finishing. Another example of the failure of corporate multitasking is the golden arches where multiple people handle your order. Without a doubt it takes longer to actually get your “fast” food in your hands.

    Multi tasking also removes the sense of achievement at the completion of something and the motivation to start the next one because you are never really finished.

    Stepping back to enjoy a meal without doing anything else or reading a book or even watching TV is also good for the mind as it rests yet absorbs more. Next time you read a book, an article or a document read it in silence and see how much more of it you retain and how much time you save by not having to go back and skim it multiple times for detail you missed because your mind was distracted by other things. You will amaze yourself and realise the furphy of multitasking.

    You will also have a much better day with a lot less stress and you wont be mentally exhausted at the end of the day and able to focus totally on your children and partner.

    Ciao for now.

    • You make so many good points, many of which I can relate to in my everyday life!! I especially like your comment about being lazy, so very true…..but I like to think of being lazy as giving one some self love.

  3. This is something I’ve really noticed lately too & electronics & social media are the biggest problem. I find it hard now to just do one thing- watch tv, cook dinner etc or just ‘be’ a passenger in a car, waiting at a traffic light, without also being on my phone/iPad/computer. I decided at the start of this week to allocate myself one block of time at the end of each day to get on my social media accounts and damn it’s been hard! I’ve discovered how much I really do it! But it’s been great, I’m finding I’m getting more stuff done. Today I cleaned my kitchen cupboards when I normally would’ve sat on the couch watching the Kardashians whilst browsing facebook!

  4. Hmmm… currently I am eating toast and drinking tea, checking emails/FB/blog while waiting for the washing to finish so that it can be hung before I sit down to play UNO with the kids (youngest is feeling the pressure of losing yesterday when he flogged us in an earlier round, he needs some points apparently!)

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!

