Second child syndrome

There is no second child syndrome! You know what there is though….. a flippin’ time syndrome! I am the mother of two beautiful children, both whom I adore equally. And contrary to popular belief, I also take just as many photos of Ragamuffin as I did Princess in her early years.

But apart from being a Mum, I am also a teacher. I work three days a week a Primary School teaching Grade 6, and this does not include all the planning, marking and networking I do at home in my own time. On my two days off I try to manage my household, keeping on top of all things housework and washing. But on top of this, I try to spend quality time with my boy, because before I know it, he’ll be heading off to school too…..I blinked and he was two for gods sake!!

Last term, I carved out time for him to go to a local playgroup, because when you are first time Mum you get hooked up with a Mother’s Group, which Princess loved and made great friendships through. But apparently when you’re a second time Mum it’s assumed you don’t need a Mother’s Group, which kinda disappoints me because those groups aren’t just about the Mum’s connecting but also about the children too.

Life at no2 Life at no2

So anyways, off to Playgroup we go each Friday now, for a bit of time together to play and interact with other parents and children. We both love it so much and it has honestly been the best little decision I made for the little guy. We may not have a Mother’s Group this time around but now we have something just as great!

7 thoughts on “Second child syndrome

  1. The really great thing is that in one of the photos he is happily playing amongst the washing machine and iron. What this does and what’s great about is that in his mind these items will become home items that both boys and girls use. That is awesome because he will be totally open to that and understand everybody should contribute to running the house and in the 21st century there is no such thing as women’s work and men’s work, there is just work.

    • I was talking about this just yesterday! Funny thing is in our house Hubby is the cook! One of Hubby’s friends commented the other day when Ragamuffin was pushing a pram around with a baby to which I replied “yes, God forbid he will be a dad one day!” ….. made my point quite easily!

  2. I am the eldest of three, so can’t really comment on second child syndrome 😉
    Mother’s group / playgroup though – with my first two kids I didn’t go (and not really sure why now), however, 3rd time around I did and it is great! It was a bunch of girls who met at the local health nurse with kids the same age and they continued to meet at each other’s houses/park/pool each week and continue to do so 3 years later. I attached myself onto them probably 6 months after they started when I became friends with one of the chicks!

    • I loved my Mothers Group just like you and I still catch up with two of the girls, one regularly. The kids loved our catch ups just as much, there’s definitely a lot to be said for playgroups. Thanks for stopping by x

  3. Good on you – you gorgeous mama you. I didnt belong to a mothers group with any of my babies, I think mostly because I was too shy the first time around and then by the time the next two came along my friends had kids and so I used to hang with them but I remember always seeing mothers groups at the park and thinking how beautiful it is that they were taking that time for both themselves and their children to meet new people xx

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!

