Long days

DSC_1916.jpg

When you’re reading this I’ll be on school holidays. Whoop whoop!! I know some of you Mumma’s out there are probably cringing at the thought of it, but being a teacher and a mummy I totally look forward to those two weeks!! This one in particular I have been looking forward to more so.

I feel like I started this year on the back foot. Instead of our normal holiday packed with nothing but relaxation, this time our it was broken up by some beautiful weddings and other destinations than our normal one. We wouldn’t have wanted it any other way, we had a blast and so did the kids. But it meant packing bags on numerous occasions, tiredness (maybe a hangover or two) and quite a few long car trips.

When we finally did arrive home, at over 90 years young and still living home alone and driving, Hubby’s Pa fell quite ill.  What followed were long weeks of emotion highs and lows and Mothering without Hubby’s help. This of course is something that I would not change for the entire world. While Hubby had important and heart wrenching family duties to attend to, I held down the fort.

I did everything in my power to be a good Mum but more than that, everything to be a good wife. Any job that needed to be done that he had mentioned even in passing, I tried to do it. I’m sure I didn’t do it as well as he would have, but it was done, and it was one less thing for him to worry about so that his focus could be where it needed to be.

As the days rolled into weeks, they seemed to get longer. I enjoyed the moments of peace when the kids were in bed and through this regained my strength for the next day ahead. When Pa passed, time stood still for a while for us all to grieve, laugh and share stories, and to hold each other up.

When we did return to work, it wasn’t in our normally refreshed state, and I know I’m not alone in that. I’m normally pretty resilient when it comes to illnesses going around at school both with my own kids and students. But this term has been marred with many migraines, colds, stomach bugs and more. I’ve cleaned up more than my fair share of vomit this year let me tell you!

So this school holidays I’m looking forward to do absolutely nothing! Pure and utter relaxation (as much as you can with kids) and recharging the batteries fully for another school term ahead. What will you be doing?

4 thoughts on “Long days

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!

