Not a Pinterest Mum

I, like you I’m sure, have a Pinterest account. When I have some spare time I jump on and pin the shit out of a heap of stuff, including art and craft activities to do with my kids. And if I’m to be completely honest, I’m just not a Pinterest Mum. You know the ones? They have countless activities set up throughout the day to keep their children engaged and interested? It’s almost as though they are a teacher, planning lessons for every second of the day. And it’s just not me.

I may not be a Pinterest Mum, but my kids are amazingly independent, they can play for hours on end using their imagination, with what little toys they have and the great outdoors. I might not have craft activities set out for them but I tell you what I have that’s better than a Pinterest Mum? I was once a kid too you know? And man oh man, did my sister and I manage to keep ourselves occupied especially on those days where Mum would yell at us “Get outside, it’s a beautiful day out there you know?!”.

I’ve taught my daughter how to pretend to use her bike as a horse, because that’s what my sister and I rolled when we were younger! We’d ride our bike, rise our butts up and down from our seat mimicking trotting, and make clicking sounds with our tongue to sound like a horse on the road. I’ve taught Princess that!

And there’s so many other things we used to do as kids that I’ve started handing down to my kidlets. When we weren’t pretending our horses were bikes, my little sister and I were of course making cubby houses out of sheets over the snooker table, playing schools with friends in the street in our cubby, and lets not forget playing Barbies and Mum’s and Dad’s!! After a downpour of rain we’d race out to the gutter and race leaf boats. We’d catch Butchy Boys and train them, yeah train them! We’d go down to the creek at the end of our street and catch tadpoles. We’d pack a picnic and ride along the bike track to the local library and then head to the park for lunch.

DSC_1865-3

I may not be a Pinterest (although I will admit I have been known to whip up some chocolate play dough) but I can pass down to my kids some I things my sister and I did to keep ourselves amused. So now my kids (not Pinterest kids required activities set out for them to keep their day flowing)  explore outside, jump in puddles, dig dirt, pretend to chop wood and make booby traps. They play cards, marbles and downball, or four square, or whatever they call it these days with their added foolish rules. We cook, we read books and we make potions out of water, dirt, flowers and rocks! And I can sure as hell show Ragamuffin the best place in the house to race his match box cars!!

What did you do as a kid that you’d love to hand down to yours?

19 thoughts on “Not a Pinterest Mum

  1. Elisha says:

    Just to play outside and make up everything. Anything! I save my pinterest mummy-ing for those horrible, cold winter inside days. Great post. It brought back lots of memories of playing in the backyard with my brothers and sister.

  2. Kylie Purtell says:

    I’m with Elisha, the only time I get close to something resembling a Pinterest Mum is if it’s been raining and the kids need something new to distract them. I don’t really believe in having activities and stuff set-up for my kids all day long, I think it’s really important that they learn to occupy themselves, and I often get comments on how good they are at finding things to do. They love to play make-believe and hide and seek is becoming a fast favourite now that Zee mostly understands the concept of it (hide and seek was my favourite as a kid!) and they love to colour and draw, something they will happily do for ages at a time, with no need for me to guide or supervise them.

    I’m pretty free-range and I think allowing kids to come up with their own entertainment, using nothing but their imaginations, is really important for developing their creativity. It also gives them a chance to work on their conflict resolution and problem-solving skills at the same time.
    #teamIBOT

  3. Kit@Life through the haze says:

    Oh Bel I couldn’t be further from a pinterest mum! You are better than me you have made chocolate playdoh!!! I hate craft, glitter, playdoh you name it! My kids are so self sufficient they have to get their own breakfast and lunch every day (and clean up their mess lol). You rock!

  4. kirsty @ My Home Truths says:

    I really love this post. I’m not a Pinterest mum either and I love watching my kids play the most imaginative games – I love hearing the imaginary conversations they have when they play dress ups or dolls or cars or whatever else takes their fancy. I do have to work on them going outside a bit more – they take after their father in that sense who’d rather spend all him time inside!!!!

    • lifeatno2 says:

      I love listening to my kids play, it’s seriously the best! We tend to just leave our backdoor one when the weather is nice, the kids come and go as they please.

  5. Robyna says:

    I think it’s so important that we teach our kids how to access their own imaginations as their “Pinterest board”. My grandmother recently commented – everything is pre-chewed these days.

    • lifeatno2 says:

      Thanks, maybe I should create a Pinterest board of imaginative games to introduce your kids too…..now to take a photo of me pretending my bike is a horse hmmmm

  6. Alli Bitar (@girlinthepjs) says:

    My daughter’s most favourite thing is to hang out in the cubbies she’s made in her room and ‘write’ in her notebooks – no pinterest required! I certainly pin a lot of stuff but who really has time to set all that up during their day?!

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!

