The Do’s and Don’ts of Elf on the Shelf

I think I was almost one of the first people in the Land of Oz to have purchased an Elf on the Shelf. Princess was two at the time, hence the unfortunate name of our Elf, Mr Scabby, gross I know!  I just looked back at photos and realised that this will be our sixth year since our little guy first visited at Christmas time.

Now that the market is saturated with these little guys (and girls now too), I thought I’d share some of my do’s and don’ts for the upcoming season of the Elf.

*DO buy your Elf early to avoid disappointment, those little suckers don’t have the luxury of using Santa’s Sleigh to arrive quickly on your doorstep.

*DO buy the book. It explains why your Elf is here and why your kids can’t touch it!

*DO once you get your Elf operate on him/her! Buy some craft wire, unpick it’s hands and feet and feed the wire through. It will mean that your Elf can be manipulated much easier.

*DO use Pinterest to find ideas for your Elf (after six years, I’m starting to run low!).

*DO take photos each morning of the mischief your little Elf got up to. At the end of the month, make your own little picture story book and get your kids to write a sentence to go with each picture.

*DO put your own spin on this fun idea, like the Kindness Elves which I’m going to try to incorporate this year.

164983_elf_on_the_shelf_light_boy_with_book_full.jpg

and finally, my big DONT

*DONT be annoying and post a photo every, single day of your Elf’s adventures on Social Media (which yes, I was initially guilty of….give me a break though, no one had even heard of Elf on the Shelf back then!). Instead, if you want to share, do a weekly round up with your photos in a collage that your friends can look at quickly and have a little giggle at.

If you have any new ideas that I could use for Mr Scabby this year, hit me with them in the comments below!

 

6 thoughts on “The Do’s and Don’ts of Elf on the Shelf

  1. Thanks heaps for sharing. I feel I was a bit slack last year and really need to get my act together, especially as my eldest will be 10 in January so I wonder if I’m on borrowed time!?!
    Last year I saw a number of people freeze their elves and then have an Elsa doll standing next to them in the morning, I quite liked that idea!!! I also like the kindness elf idea too.
    Lovely to see you writing again!

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!

