Too many friends, really?

The whole notion of having enough friends and that you don’t need anymore, is something I’ve heard a few people say over the last few years. And to be honest, I don’t really get it. Maybe it’s because I don’t have a shipping container full of friends that I can just pull out on a whim, or maybe it’s just because I see the benefit in having many friends from different back grounds and with different interests.

I wrote a post called The Red StringΒ a few years ago, where I talked about how once I started to see all the friendships I had and looked at the purpose they served, there was less chance of me getting hurt when I put myself out there. You see, I am the type of person who seeks connection, and to me, each friendship serves a different purpose. I have many different groups of friends and am someone pops up, I’m always willing toΒ add to the fold or be added to someone elses.

team-386673_1280

I look in my phone contact list, my friend list on Facebook and Instagram, and my circles are many. From work friends, to old school friends, my close circle, my mother’s group ladies, the dead bookclub that I’m in, people who I’ve met through blogging, Mum’s from the school yard or the chick that I sit next to at swimming lessons. I figure that if we have something in common, something that we enjoy doing or talking about, surely that could be enough to spark a friendship whether it be in real life or online? I honestly can’t see myself saying to someone that I’ve found commonalities with “Sorry hun, I really like you and all, but really, I just don’t have room in my life for another friend right now. But, hey if there’s an opening one day, if I loose a friend and need a new one, you’ll be the first on my list mmkay?”. It’s really quite absurd to me.

So please tell me, am I the only one who doesn’t really get the whole “I’ve already got enough friends business”? Would love to hear your thoughts?

20 thoughts on “Too many friends, really?

  1. Bel says:

    Sounds crazy to me!

    Count yourself lucky you made it to those people saying this friends list before the cut off πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

    Always room for more I say.

  2. Renee Wilson says:

    I think you can never have enough friends, but I have a feeling a lot of people as they get older find they don’t have any more room in their life for new friends. People can get stuck in their ways. Silly, isn’t it?!

  3. theplumbette says:

    Yes to this post. I once had a good friend say she made new friends and didn’t have enough time for her old friends anymore. I was like ‘you what?’ Needless to say it made me feel a little disappointed. I love making new friends and my heart is always open to making new friends.

  4. Lucia Storrar says:

    Funny you mention friends…. With recent family events, I’ve had discussions with my own BBF about my funeral. Her comments were “we’d have to hire the MCG for your memorial Lucia, because a hall wouldn’t do”. At first I thought how funny, but after much personal reflection, she’s right. I love meeting new people with different beliefs and cultures. I’ve been around a while in different areas making opportunities to meet new people. It’s a bonus if they’ve got the same interests, but if not, I’m happy to learn and possibly take on some of theres.
    If we treat people with respect, dignity and a special portion of admiration, it’s natural that people are attracted to you, which I love. Being a talker helps too.
    Please don’t misconstrued the fact that I may have a need for approval from friends, I don’t. If friendships turn negative, I find myself just as easily walking away. On the up side, I haven’t had to do that too much.
    I love that your in my life, you’ve opened up ideas in this crazy mind of mine and we’ve shared a few laughs. It’s uncanny how were connected.

  5. HandbagMafia says:

    I get it. Sometimes people just don’t have the time they feel is necessary to invest in friendships. I do t feel that way and love new friends, but I do understand what people are getting at.

    • lifeatno2 says:

      Time is always a big factor isn’t it!? I have a close circle of friends that I obviously invest a lot of time in but also understand if I can’t. I guess in today’s work there are so many amazing ways to stay connected too which can make things easier! Friday nights I tend to ring my best friend who I don’t get a chance to see much, we have a drink together and chat, it’s just not in person, it’s something I look forward to without leaving the confines of my own home!

  6. Deborah says:

    I’m a bit lazy about making new friends as I get older as I’m the sort of person who only ‘needs’ a few close friends around me. But I have lots of other friends I see from time to time. We’re not each other’s priorities but enjoy it when we catch up and follow each other’s lives on FB from time to time.

    Having said that, I think different people come into our lives at different times. I’ve made a new close friend this past year and it was timely as she arrived in town almost a year after another close friend left.

  7. Mumma McD says:

    I think it probably depends on your personality. Making friends doesn’t come easy to everybody, and I guess some people would rather stick with the friends they already know and love, rather than putting themselves out there to make new ones!
    #teamIBOT

    • lifeatno2 says:

      I’m socially awkward and an introvert to boot, so making friends doesn’t come naturally to me. That being said, I think for me it’s about remaining open to the possibilities. But I do stick with my circle too, they are my comfort

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!

