When possessions become more than that

I live my life pretty simply. My house isn’t full of clutter and my kids aren’t spoiled by choice with toys. We live in a tiny house because we choose experiences and holidays with our kids than having a bigger block of land or an extra bathroom. We choose our possessions wisely, the stuff that we use all the time stays and the other things that no longer serve a purpose goes. So it has come as quite a surprise that lately I have realised how much some of these ‘things’ have come to mean to me.

If you follow me on Instagram or Snapchat, you would know that a few months ago I lost the diamond out of my engagement ring. At first I was just so pissed off, like really, how bad can my luck be? But as the days went on, I began to realise how this small possession had come to mean so much. The day that I first laid my eyes on the ring I was standing on the shore line of Kuta Beach as the waves lapped at my ankles. When I turned around, Princess and Hubby were standing there holding it, asking me if I would marry them. The value that the ring holds is pretty big for me, it symbolises our family and the steps we have taken to be who we are today. Not long after the loss of the diamond, I also lost a diamond out of my wedding band. And now I am torn as to what to do next? Do I replace the rings completely, to be honest I’d rather not spend that amount of money on myself, I mean really, that kind of cash could be a decent family holiday no? Then I’m thinking do I  melt down some other rings I have that hold sentimental value too and make them into a new set? I’m really not quite sure. So at the moment, I’m wearing one of my Grandmothers rings until I manage to rustle up a decision I am happy with.

cameras-1695017_1920

And if my year of great lunch couldn’t get much better, my fairly new camera, which is pretty much always by my side, ceased working a couple of weeks back. It’s currently in a shop awaiting a quote to fix it, I am a little scared! I actually have probably had the worst year in regards to taking photos, I have been feeling lack lustre and uninspired. But, the fact that my camera isn’t currently at my beckon call is really starting to shake me. Sure I can capture some moments on my phone, but if I’m to be honest, I know I could do it better with my camera.

So three possessions that I never thought too much about have now been taken away from me. And now that they are gone, I feel lost without them. I’m not sure when or if I will get them back again, I hope I do, but until then, I just sit with this unusual feeling.

6 thoughts on “When possessions become more than that

  1. Cat@Life through the haze says:

    What a bother! I melted my wedding band and engagement ring down and combined them into one ring with all the original diamonds. But I can understand the desire to get them replaced but also the pull to spend the money on the rest of the family. You know what it is sometimes important to spend money on yourself and to have something important just for you. It isn’t selfish to want that (not that you said it was). I think that as women we are terribly bad at putting ourselves first and I think that this is one of those times to put yourself first xoxo

    • lifeatno2 says:

      So true Cat! I guess it just comes down to the fact that I’m not big on possessions and think carefully about my money. I spoil myself often with things, but this just seems to be a really big expense…a holiday would be so nice and the memories too! I think one day I’ll bite the bullet, but for now, I’ll wear y grandmas’s ring

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!

