Travel Back in time

If I could show you three places back in time, I think I’d take you to my Mum’s house. Our family home, the place she still lives, one constant in my life.

I’d lead you into my bedroom and sit you inside my tiny wardrobe. A place where I used to dream of making it into a double story cubby, a place where I used to hide away from the world. I’d make you sit with your back to the wall and look toward the door but upwards just a little. I’d show you the spot where as a tween and teen I’d write the name of the boy I was in love with in grey led.

photo-256887_1920

I’d lead you to the backdoor and sit on the wooden step, the decking which hides the original cement step. This was the step I sat on with the boy I was seeing. We sat there late after a night of being out, sipping on beer (yes I used to drink beer) and talking about how much we loved camping and being in the bush. My dog would sit beside him and lick beer off the concrete while he pet her and talked. I remember this night, because it’s when I knew that this was the boy I wanted to marry one day. And I did.

I’d take you to the front garden, which holds the same shape but lots of the old plants have been pulled out and replaced with ones that require less maintenance. I’d tell you how when I was little, I used to bring my troll dolls out here and pose them in the garden to take photos of them and practise my photography. Who knew my love of photography would grow so big?

If you could take me three places, where would you take me?

 

 

13 thoughts on “Travel Back in time

  1. Renee Wilson says:

    Oh what a beautiful post with such sweet memories. I’d probably take you to the big poinsettia I used to climb. I would nestle myself in between the branches and look out to the river. My name is still carved in that tree. Hmm, I don’t know about the other two places. I need to think 🙂

  2. Leanne @ Deep Fried Fruit says:

    Gorgeous! My childhood home has long gone to another family who have changed it so much I don’t recognise it. My parents moved out of it at the same time I did … so that’s around 30 years ago. But if I could go back to the way it was it would be sitting on the front steps with my tabby cat “Tibbles” rubbing against my legs. The milk man would have just been with the glass bottles sitting at the front door and the change (in coins) sitting next to them. Our horse float would be parked on the street with my Dad’s really old green “Stout” ute in front of it. Kids riding past on bikes barefoot and without helmets.

  3. Sammie @ The Annoyed Thyroid says:

    What lovely memories! I’d take you back to the local outdoor swimming pool, where I’d sun bake next to my mum on the grass making myself messy with an ice lolly. I’d also take you back to my first dorm at boarding school, where midnight feasts were a regular occurrence – it was like a scene straight out of Malory Towers. And I’d take you to my nana’s house, with the orange shag pile carpet and the cracked cream leather sofa, because we’d definitely be allowed to stay up and watch the 10 o’clock news and they’d always be a bread pudding fresh out of the oven!

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!

