Social Media free

A couple of months ago, I decided to challenge myself to a week free of social media. Now granted I didn’t have Facebook at the time but had my blog page there, as well as Instagram and Snapchat, my blog, my blog reading app and emails. All of which had become an integral part of my day. I was beginning to notice how at certain times my mood would change or I would choose to scroll rather than to do something more productive. So I decided to give it all up.

Here are the things that I noticed very quickly:

}} Well first up, after deleting all the apps on my phone, the detox was actually quite easy, way easier than I thought it would be!

}} Without the temptation of social media I got heaps of shit done! I was so much more organised too!

}} Of a night time, or even during the day when Ragamuffin was napping, instead of aimlessly scrolling, I would pick up a book! I read a whole book in a week and even started another, which has been something lacking in my life since I had kids!

}} I was definitely less grumpy and a lot calmer with the kids and even myself. They had my undivided attention at all times.

}} Princess and I started reading Harry Potter together each night, something that we haven’t done in a long time.

}} Watching TV was hard! I didn’t realise how much I used to multitask when I was watching TV when the kids were in bed. It’s almost like I couldn’t just watch a show anymore. So weird!

}} It was nice to talk to friends and not know what they had been up too! It made for some quality conversations about the weekend, rather than “oh yeah, I saw that on Instagram”.

}} I tended to call friends a lot more and check in with others with a quick text message.

}} But the biggest thing I noticed was how everyone around me did not seem comfortable in the presence of silence. As soon as there was a lull in conversation, immediately everyone would pick up their phones.

url.jpg

So what have I done since my little detox? I have definitely become more mindful in regards to using my phone. When I wake up, I have a quick catch up on my social platforms before the kids wake. I more actively try to read and do other things when my children are around. When I am with friends, I rarely pick up my phone, soon I might even start to suggest that maybe they would like to join the conversation that is going on in the real world rather than inside their phone. But I will admit, I’m no angel, the TV scrolling has definitely snuck back in and it’s something I need to work on.

Do you think you could do a detox? What better way to find out than having ago over the Summer holidays. What do you think you worst habit is in regards to your phone usage?

 

 

One thought on “Social Media free

  1. Pingback: When you disappear | Life at no. 2

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!

