Body, Mind, Soul and Heart

Have you ever had to make a big decision?

One where you head and heart were at war with each other?

Sometimes it’s all well and good when people say ‘listen to your heart’ but sometimes, you just have to go with your head. A couple of weeks ago I had to make a big decision. It was to resign from my second job in Social Media that I loved. And if I had’ve listened to my heart, I would’ve stayed, no question, because I loved what I was doing and I loved who I worked for.

But you know, sometimes, the heart isn’t always the best judge. My health hasn’t been awesome lately (as I’ve already shared with you in this post), nothing life threatening but it has been effecting my day to day life and my interactions with my family (no one likes a pounding migraine at the best of times!). I was trying to do all the things, mothering, wife-ing, general household stuff, extra-curricular stuff and two jobs…..and I’ve been doing awesome at it to be honest, but it was time. Something had to give.

I to-ed and fro-ed for days, heart and head battled. Heart was winning, but then the head would always pop back in with such an un-agruable argument, and then so, it was done. Health wins. Family wins. More time wins. They always should…..thanks head!

human-1138001_1920.jpg

So it was with a heavy heart I handed in my notice. Instantly, my world began to change. And if I’m to be honest, I’ve already felt a little lost. I have so much time back that I’m not exactly sure what to do with yet……I think I’ll read a book, I think I’ll blog more for me (because heck I’ve missed it!), I think I will rest and rejuvenate.

I’d love to know if you’ve made any tough decisions lately and whether your head or heart won?

 

13 thoughts on “Body, Mind, Soul and Heart

  1. Tracy says:

    Oh yes!! Your heart is not always the best decider, because it gets caught up in emotion and feeling instead of truth. The day I realised I had to resign from my job, a couple of years ago, in order to step into the future I had prepared for was totally devastating. I went home and sobbed uncontrollably for half an hour. It was the right and appropriate thing in my season. But it hurt, because it meant leaving my tribe and heading into the unknown. You know what? A year later I was offered a job in my new career back with my old employer. And it’s still my tribe and I am so passionate about my place and new role. But I had to go and teach somewhere else for a year. And that was right too.

    • lifeatno2 says:

      Thanks Tracy for sharing your story! Yep, it’s hard to do and I was definitely emotional about it but it’s onwards and upwards. If nothing else, I think I have made some good relationships that I know won’t end just because my role has. Thanks again for sharing!!

  2. deb dane says:

    Good on you for being able to figure out what was best. It is so hard when you know in your very rational head what needs to happen, but your heart is pulling elsewhere. I guess it comes down to motives- when the head is trying to win but it is keeping me small then I have to let the heart override. But usually I am heart led so need that head part to weigh in. Enjoy your extra time and breathe!!!

  3. Beck Berger (craftypjmum) says:

    So many times over the years my head and my heart have been in a war against each other. I am glad that you were able to finally come to a decision and I hope that your health takes a turn for the better now that your choice has been made. xx

  4. Claire @ Life on Wallace says:

    Recently we moved from Sydney to Canberra for lifestyle reasons. We were deciding between two houses to buy. My heart told me to buy one (I fell in love) my head told me to buy the other (much less expensive and suited our needs). We went with our hearts. Our hearts won. We love our house but not the mortgage! #teamIBOT

  5. Tash @ Gift Grapevine says:

    Going with your head can be practical and boring but when your health is at stake, going with your head should win every time. Sounds like you made the right decision – enjoy your extra time and rest. You deserve it!

    • lifeatno2 says:

      That’s probably the best way to look at it because you want life to be interesting, throw caution to the wind sometimes but when health is a factor, it should always win. Thanks

  6. Robyna says:

    I had to make a very similar decision not so long ago and it was very hard. My reasons were very similar as well – family first. I miss it (and the people I worked with) but the balance is better for my family and I.

Here at no.2 we love hearing from you & appreciate your comments!